First Impressions: Black Widow

E6D597E9-ED69-4CE0-A995-41B933FB77B0

Release Date: July 9, 2021 (USA)
Company: Marvel/Disney
Director: Cate Shortland

Been a while since I posted here, eh? If Andy N wasn’t working so hard on trying to get as many retro WoF recaps on the web in one day, I would’ve have spent more time writing reviews on this site instead. My sister took me to see this one at Regal Edwards Brea East with a couple of her friends (and that does include guardians/siblings), meaning that this was my first time in over a year seeing a movie in theaters. Also, I’d like to mention that this film made a ton of money both in the box office and on Disney+. But for the movie itself, how did it go? Well, I’ll give you a really quick spoiler-free review.

This is merely an origin story about two sisters (Natasha Romanoff, Scarlett Johansson; Yelena Belova, Florence Pugh) and through many years of training, they are separated. Ronanoff’s a fugitive now and she and Belova meet up in Budapest. From there, we have a Russian version of Captain America (David Harbour), some small talk and plenty of action near the end.

This film is different from other Marvel movies, but it doesn’t mean it’s bad. Far from it I say. While it does have those cliches near the end, the ride to the ending is entertaining enough that I didn’t feel like I’ve wasted 134 minutes of my life watching it. Heck, I did laugh quite a bit at times, mainly for the Russian Captain America.

So yeah, if you’re a Marvel fan, go see it. Is it one of the best in the universe? Not really. But it shouldn’t take away from the fact that it finally feels great to see a Marvel movie back at the big screen again and it does a decent job kicking off Phase 4 (if you don’t count the shows on Disney+). And please stay for the post-credits scene (luckily, no one had the audacity to walk out when the end credits rolled in).

7/10